top of page

EAT, PRAY... PILATES

Updated: Mar 20, 2021



Alina Sedano, Pilates Instructor, Online Pilates Workouts, Beachbody workouts, white bikini, Saint  Jean Cap Ferrat, Cote d'Azur, French Riviera
EAT, PRAY... PILATES


Through the Pilates Method of Body Conditioning this unique trinity of a balanced body, mind and spirit can ever be attained. Self confidence follows.

~Joseph Pilates


5 years years ago, I would've never shared a pic like this. I'm sure you are wondering ...Why? Well, this is me on my last day of vacation in the South of France a few years ago. ( When life was easier and we traveled freely breathing in fresh air.) Ahhhh, those were the days... sporting a bikini with a belly filled with wine, roquefort cheese, steak, mussels, french fries, pizza, tuna tartar, pasta, crepes, chocolate, and anything with truffles on it or in it. Yeah, I love anything with truffles... especially pizza. I'm proud to say, I ate my way through the Cote d'Azur and I enjoyed every amazing bite.

The old me would look at this pic and say, "Hmmm... does my belly look bloated?" Today I would say... "Ohhhh....how I miss traveling, sipping, and tasting my way around Europe." I've never been one to regret indulging in food, whether at home or on vacation. Because, quite honestly I love to sit down with a nice glass of wine and eat a good meal. Instead of regretting those delicious bites, I just cover up my belly with a loose fitting top... and keep on going happy as can be. It's really hard for me to regret indulging in something that tasted so good and made me happy at that moment in time! Especially, while on vacation. But on the other hand, I've got a closet full of loose tops and dresses to hide the evidence... until I tame the belly bulge and ditch the inflammatory foods for a week. Then the weekend comes I eat whatever I want, always in moderation though and the boho style dresses come back into full rotation. It's a cycle and that is what works for me; and the way I find balance in my life.


Even though I'm a Pilates Instructor, my belly has never been totally flat and I've never had washboard abs. I've come to the conclusion that I never will. But my core is as strong as can be thanks to Pilates... holding a Teaser or plank position is quite effortless for me these days. I know those abs are there, I can feel them fire. I just can't see them. And I've learned to accept it and be happy with the powerhouse God gave me. They've always been covered in a little layer of love as I like to call it. And if the only way... they'll pop out is by ditching carbs and wine, than no thank you. I'll stick to my rotation of healthy clean eating, Pilates, cardio, loose fitting tops and dresses. I'd rather be happy than hangry any day.

So here I am , exposing my belly, my powerhouse, and my feelings about my core. Why??? Because, I want to share with YOU ...that it's ok to eat, enjoy life, travel, and hit the beach with a belly full of good food, laughs and love. You see, Pilates has blessed me in more ways than I ever could have imagined. It protected my back 15 years ago, when I was traveling non stop working auto shows and standing in high heels for 8 hours a day. It gave my strength, poise, and confidence to stand in a bikini in front of fashion buyers at swimwear shows. It's been my travel buddy on business trips, when the hotel gym only had a treadmill. It's taught me how to help others overcome physical and emotional pain. (I can't even begin to explain how rewarding it is to see your client, moving without pain and enjoying life. It's one of the coolest experiences ever.) It encourages me to live a balanced and healthy lifestyle. It gives me the strength and stamina to enjoy my favorite physical activities such as skiing, biking, hiking, swimming, kayaking, etc... And most importantly, throughout this journey... it's taught me self acceptance and the confidence to share my imperfections and Pilates journey with you. Let's face it, it's not easy to share your imperfections with your friends, family, and especially strangers online. It's actually really scary and intimidating. But if sharing my story, helps someone else find balance and happiness - then I can smile and say I've done my job.

So if you are reading this... and wondering if you should put on that bikini, eat the pizza, drink the wine, and jump into the sea of life. Do yourself a favor and say Yes to being happy! Yes, to living without self doubt and self judgement. Life is too short to worry about what others think. The greatest gift you can give yourself is the gift of being happy and healthy. And if by chance you are thinking of trying Pilates or toying with the idea of becoming a Pilates Instructor. My answer is YES!!! Go for it! You won't regret it. It will change your life in more ways than you can ever imagine. Pilates will help you tap into your powerhouse of self confidence, self awareness, and help you live a healthy and balanced lifestyle. And that my friends is the key to happiness!



19 views0 comments
bottom of page